Case has now moved to the prosecution stage for Wu

Yesterday Hannah and I went to the Chaoyang Detention center to see about applying for a family visit to see Dawu inside. We were told that because the case has officially moved to the prosecution stage, that a family visit is out of the question. I asked to see the Chinese Law that actually states that, but they laughed in my face! I asked again, but was told the same thing, complete with more laughs, you know the nervous kind that Chinese make. Frustating. I took out my book of papers and articles which I have created since working on all of this, and showed in Chinese an extract which clearly states the opposite to what they were telling me, or trying to get me to believe. Another lawyer working on someone else’s case was beside me and agreed with the counter staff, saying, “Yes, you will NEVER be able to visit someone [inside] in China. Forget it”. Oh, ok. I guess my version of the law is out of date or refers to some other China? Who knows, I certainly don’t. Whatever. Left in tears at the frustration of it all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

